** Texas House Bill 3609, effective 9/1/19 amends and repeals portions of Section 71.103 & 71.104 Business & Commerce Code and will no longer require certain business entities (corporations, limited partnerships, limited liability partnerships, limited liability companies, or foreign filing entities) to file an additional assumed name certificate with the county clerk, but only with the Texas Secretary of State.
All other persons regularly conducting business or rendering a professional service under an assumed name must file a certificate in the office of the county clerk in each county in which the person has or will maintain a business or professional service or in the county where they conduct business or render a professional service (if the person does not or will not maintain a business or professional premises in any county).
Assumed Name Recording Fee effective 01/01/14 - One owner is $26.00 plus $.50 for each additional owner. All signatures must be notarized. Notary Public not available at the Courthouse. Research the name you are interested in and record your original notarized document between 8:00am - 4:30PM at the Historic Courthouse located at 2 N. Main St. Rm. B15 in downtown Cleburne (817-202-4000 x 1625) or at the Burleson Sub-Courthouse at 247 Elk Dr. Room 103 (817-202-2968) or mail completed and notarized form with appropriate fees to:
Johnson County Clerk - Recording
PO Box 1986
Cleburne TX 76033
Do not mail cash, no personal checks accepted
If you or your company will do business in Texas under a name other than your legal name, or the business name on file with the Secretary of State, then you will be operating under an "assumed name", also known as a fictitious name or DBA which stands for "doing business as". The State requires a simple filing before you can begin operations under an assumed name.
Assumed Name Certificate for unincorporated persons shall be filed with the County Clerk's Office in each county in which the person will maintain a business premises or where the person conducts business or renders service if the person will not maintain a business premises in any county. (The County Clerk's Office cannot provide legal advice). See Texas Business & Commerce Code Title 5 § 71.054 http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/BC/htm/BC.71.htm. Portions of this code have changed effective 9/1/19 under Texas House Bill 3609. See notes highlighted in yellow at the top of this page.
An Assumed Name is not a business license. Contact City Hall in the city in which the business is to be conducted to find out if a business license is required in that city. Other licensing requirements may apply depending on the location and type of business.
If any of the information on the recorded form changes during the time the assumed name is active, record a new form within 60 days (new recording fees required). If you discontinue using the business name, file an abandonment. If you are still using the name at the end of ten years, you must file a new form.
Additional information can be found at https://texaswideopenforbusiness.com/start-business and http://www.sos.state.tx.us/corp/index.shtml
All fees are due and payable at time of service.
- Personal checks are not accepted.
- Business checks are accepted with company information on check.
- Credit cards are accepted with a small 5% fee.