Historical Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option


JCHC logo

The Johnson  County Historical Commission is responsible for identifying and preserving Johnson County's historic resources. The continued presence of historic properties in Johnson County enhances the quality of our lives; it helps to establish our sense of place and defines the very character of our community. The Historical Commission focuses on conserving each of Johnson County 's cities historic resources and promoting civic awareness of the communities' history.

 The Historical Commission assists in the development of tourism by helping the county's citizens become aware of the economic benefits derived from the preservation and promotion of Johnson County's historical sites, areas and resources.

Johnson County Historical Commission was established in 1961 by Cleburne residents. Johnson County Historical Commission chairs included:

1961-1968          Mrs. R.W. (Tommie) Kimbro

1969-1974          Rev. Gordon Miltenberger

1975-1976          Etta Ewing

1977-1982          Beverly McJilton

1983-1986          Mrs. Jean Moss

1987-1988          Phillip A. Taylor

1989-1990          Mrs. JoDell McLean

1991-2004          Dan Leach

2004-2010          Billy Cate

2011-Present     John Percifield

The JCHC monthly meetings cover a variety of topics relating to the conservation of the County's historic resources and promotion of civic historical awareness. All meetings are open to the public.

County Historical Commissions are authorized by the Texas Legislature for the purpose of quoting, initiating, and conducting programs for the preservation of the historical heritage of the county; Appointed by Commissioners Court for 2-year terms, historical commissioners operate under their own by-laws but in close association with the Texas Historical Commission in Austin. 

(817) 556-6970