Local Emergency Planning Committee

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Establishment & Purposelepclogo

In 1986, the U.S. Congress passed a law called the "Emergency Planning and Community Right to Know Act," (EPCRA) requiring all counties to form and maintain a local emergency planning committee (LEPC). An LEPC is a voluntary organization that is established in an Emergency Planning District designated by the State Emergency Response Commission (SERC). This group supports emergency planning for chemical hazards and provides the local government and public with information about possible chemical hazards.

The role of LEPC is to form a partnership between local government and industries as a resource for enhancing hazardous materials preparedness. The Johnson County LEPC is to follow regulations, including, but not limited to:

(1) Assistance in developing, training and testing of (a) hazardous substances emergency response plan(s) for jurisdictions within Johnson County.

(2) Development of procedures for regulated facilities to provide notification to the LEPC in accordance with EPCRA.

(3) Development of procedures for receiving and processing requests from the public under the community right-to-know provisions of EPCRA.

(4) Provision for public notification of committee activities.


The Johnson County LEPC is made up of representatives from state and local government, emergency management, fire, law enforcement, emergency medical services, environmental groups, education, media, community groups, transportation, and facility owners and operators.

Chemical Reports and Requests: Submitting Tier II Reports

You can submit a Tier II report to the Johnson County LEPC via email:


The Johnson County Emergency Operations Center (EOC) is acting as the headquarters for the LEPC and makes necessary efforts to invite individuals from various departments, agencies, units, and facilities to LEPC meetings. The LEPC meets once every two months, in which the agenda shall be posted one-two weeks prior.

Next meeting:

Wednesday, January 15, 2020 at 12:00pm-1:00pm

Johnson County EOC

810 E. Kilpatrick St., Cleburne, Texas, 76031


1-16-19 Agenda

3-20-19 Agenda

5-15-19 Agenda

7-17-19 Agenda

1-16-19 Minutes

3-20-19 Minutes

5-15-19 Minutes

7-17-19 Minutes


2018  2017 2016
1-17-18 Agenda  1-17-18 Minutes    2-15-17 Agenda  2-15-17 Minutes    2-17-16 Agenda  2-17-16 Minutes
 3-21-18 Agenda  3-21-18 Minutes    4-19-17 Agenda  4-19-17 Minutes    4-13-16 Agenda  4-13-16 Minutes
 5-16-18 Agenda  5-16-18 Minutes    6-21-17 Agenda  6-21-17 Minutes    6-15-16 Agenda  6-15-16 Minutes
 7-18-18 Agenda  7-18-18 Minutes    8-16-17 Agenda  8-16-17 Minutes    8-17-16 Agenda  8-17-16 Minutes
 11-14-18 Agenda
 11-14-18 Minutes
           10-18-17 Agenda  10-18-17 Minutes            10-12-16 Agenda  10-12-16 Minutes




LEPC Officers 

 Name Position  Contact 
 Zac Johnson
President  817-556-6995
 Rob Severance
Vice President 817-645-0973
 Jeff Pakeltis Treasurer  817-202-3224 
 Katrice Harris Secretary  817-202-3228 
 Kerri Abbott  Information Officer  817-202-1267